Refund a Customer's Payment

You can issue card payment refunds at anytime. Depending on your customer’s bank, the refund will show up anywhere between 5-10 business days after the refund is issued. When you refund a charge, the fees you paid to process the charge cannot be returned.* 

See this help article to read about the fees in your country. 

 

iOS and Android

  1. Open the invoice from your Paid invoices folder
  2. On the blue action bar, tap More... 
    • Screen_Shot_2018-03-22_at_11.01.33_AM.png
  3. Tap on View transaction history
  4. From the payment history, tap the card payment that you wish to refund
  5. Tap Refund
  6. Select Yes to confirm

 

Web

  1. Open the invoice the payment was made on by going to your Paid invoices folder
  2. On the right side of the screen, under the balance, on Payment history
  3. Find the payment you wish to refund. Click on the carrot arrow to the right of the payment, and choose Delete payment
  4. Click Yes when prompted to confirm the refund

 

Helpful Tips

  • If your customer paid by card, do not give them a cash refund — this is a common fraud scenario.
  • Refunds may appear in the form of a reversal. In the case of a reversal, the original payment will drop off of your customer's bank statement, and a separate credit is not issued.
  • Refunds can't be cancelled. If you'd like to charge your customer for the amount that you have refunded, you can create a new charge for your customer.

 

*Note: This reflects changes to Stripe's policy that were enacted 9/14/2017. If you enabled Stripe in your Invoice2go account prior to 9/14/2017, the fees will be returned to you — after charging and then completely refunding a payment, the net cost is zero. If you partially refund a charge, you are refunded the prorated portion of the percentage cost.


Do these steps look different? If so, you may be using a previous Invoice2go version. See instructions here.

Have more questions? Submit a request